Meeting TGO Challengers

Loch Morlich and the northern corries on Cairngorm
Loch Morlich and the northern corries on Cairngorm

Last Thursday a couple guys doing the TGO Challenge popped in to see me at my ranger base at Glenmore. I didn’t get their names, but we chatted about mutual internet acquaintances who were know are blogging about the challenge – Alan Sloman and Whitespider. The guys I met don’t blog, but they use the TGO discussion forum.

They asked me for advice on the best way to go from Glenmore up Cairngorm and on over to Ben MacDui. Fortunately I had my 1:25,00 Outdoor Leisure series map with me – and cheeky TGOers teased me about the fact this is about 30 years old (I must have started hillwalking when still a toddler! 😉 ). I was able to tell them the Forestry Commission have created a new path – The Alt Mor Trail – that is a lovely walk from Glenmore to the Cairngorm ski area car park.

They were heading to Derry Lodge for Friday night. One guy gave me a couple of packets of dehydrated food as he said he had too much to carry and was expecting another food parcel to be waiting for him at Derry Lodge/Braemar. I gratefully accepted this and put a donation in the Cairngorm Mountain Rescue Team pot in the campsite reception.

Wherever they got to on Friday night, I hope they were away from the gale force winds that gusted through Glenmore, destroying two caravan awnings and one tent.

Leave a Reply

