A Man In Assynt

Cul Mor

I was talking to a friend recently about the hills in Assynt and promised to share our pictures of a day’s walk on Cul Mor. We undertook this walk on a wonderful, clear, sunny day in March. I’ve now finally uploaded some of Neil’s photos – all showing the hills looking clear and looking great. As I’ve mentioned previously this is one of my favourite places in the country! 🙂

I shall let the shots of the fantastic watery landscape of lochs and hills and of the interesting rock formations speak for themselves and give you a photo essay of the day’s walk. The final few pictures were taken at the Knockan Crag information centre.

The pictures are accompanied by Norman MacCaig reading part of his poem, A Man In Assynt.

See the set of these pictures and a few more on my Flickr page

9 comments on “A Man In Assynt

  1. Stunning Sheila, absolutely stunning!

    The last few sunset photos are magnificent. One of my favourite areas of the HIghlands and the photos brought back some fine memories of days on Ben Mhor Coigach, Stac Polliadh, Cul Mhor and Cul Bheag.

    The words in the poem were truly moving. I’ve just finished commenting on a post about the windfarm problem. The people pushing these through would do well to listen to these words especially around who owns this land

    • I read that blog post too and added my comments. I found my anger at the decision and feeling of lack of power, together with the emotion described in this poem. almost brought me to tears when I listened to it again.

  2. I love the brown earth, squashed looking rocks and what some might call barren hills, which is why, I guess, I love the deserts here. This is beautiful landscape to me.

    My favorite line: …or I, who am possessed by it. Yes!

    • Lael, “Who possesses this landscape? — The man who bought it or I who am possessed by it?” is my favourite line too and is one I’ve used as my signature line on several outdoors forums.

  3. Didn’t watch this last night, when I first read the post, but saved it so that I could look forward to ti through a long busy day. And what a treat it was. Thanks.

  4. A wonderful entry in your blog Sheila, must have it in the Literary Scotland group! MacCaig’s reading is very moving indeed and strange to think that he never rated this work as highly as so many of his readers’ have..

Leave a Reply

