Running and hobbling along Ryvoan Pass

I set off this morning to to a long run along forest and moorland tracks, near Glenmore in the Cairngorms National Park.

I know this route pretty well having walked and cycled along the Ryvoan Pass many times over the years.

Ryvoan Run

As the photo shows, this is a smooth, level track as it heads north running parallel to the minor road towards Glenmore Lodge. However, although it’s an easy route, I’d only gone about 1km when I tripped over a wee, narrow drain across the track and fell forward landing on my knee – whacking the knee cap on the stony ground. Hard. I stuck a plaster on the minor cut, but was more concerned about the sore bone. I decided it was too nice a day not to run, (what a ridiculous reason to keep running!) so continued on my way heading north through the Ryvoan Pass. My knee was sore, but bearable.

Ryvoan Run

I soon arrived at An Lochan Uaine (the green lochan) and, as always, was mesmerised by the vivid green colour of the water. A group of children arrived as I was there and I heard one boy comment that it looked like the Maldives and another ask if they could swim in the loch.

Ryvoan Run

Continuing past the loch I soon came to Ryvoan Bothy.

Ryvoan Run

I had a nosy inside and was disappointed to see it looking very untidy. Pages from the bothy book were scattered about as was a Sunday paper. I gathered up the loose pages from the book and put them in the cover and placed the newspaper neatly in the hearth ready for fire-lighting.

After leaving the bothy I passed the lovely wee Loch a’ Chait.

Ryvoan Run

The next section of the track passes through the Abernethy RSPB Resrve and the heather moorland gives way to pine woods and conifer plantations.

Ryvoan Run

At an opening in the trees I could see the old cottages up the hillside at Rynettin.

Ryvoan Run

I reached this point about an hour after starting so stopped to have water, trail mix and a jelly baby. When I started again my knee felt very stiff and sore, so I thought it wasn’t wise to keep pressing onwards. I turned around and decided to walk back along the track.

Half way back I stopped beside Loch a’ Chait to rest and elevated my leg. I think I nodded off as I see from GPS this wee stop was 30 minutes.

Ryvoan Run

The final stretch of the track passed the southern shoulder of Meall a’ Bhuachaille, and back past Glenmore Lodge.

Ryvoan Run

Now I’m home I have my leg elevated and with a bag of frozen peas on my knee.

2 comments on “Running and hobbling along Ryvoan Pass

  1. Looks like you’d wonderful weather, yet again, for your latest foray. Haven’t actually been to Ryvoan but passed Lochan Uaine, an absolute jewel, way back in 1998 on one of my coast to coast jaunts. On that occasion I camped by the old Bynack Stables bothy which no longer exists.
    Have just read your ‘Ring of Bright Water’ posting too and wallowed in all your evocative pictures. Some years ago I’d walked to Sandaig from Suardalan Bothy with the intention of camping by the burn – but a huge bull and his entourage had other ideas!
    Hope your knee is better now. Thanks for bringing back yet more memories!

Leave a Reply

