Run around Loch Affric

I and my son, Craig went out for a wonderful run yesterday in the beautiful Glen Affric. We did a circuit following the track and path around Loch Affric, starting from the end of the public road.

The route is about 18km/11 miles, about half on forestry track, half on very rough, boggy and rocky track/path.

We did the circuit anti-clockwise, ie started by following the track/path on the north side and returned by the easier route on the south side of the loch. The track on the north is pretty wet in places and crosses several small burns (and one larger one) by several fords. Starting our run on this side meant I had wet feet for almost the whole two hours, but left the easier track for later when we were tiring.

We had chosen a lovely crisp autumnal day with the temperature rising to about 7°C in the direct sun. We took about 2 hours 20 mins, but that included lots of short pauses for photos, one stop to eat some trail mix after one hour, and a longer stop to negotiate a burn crossing. In the photos this burn appears to be about a couple of metres wide, but was about four metres across and up to mid-shin depth. After trying, and failing, with several stepping stone options, I resorted to walking through the ankle deep water, but even then I slipped on one stone and put my hand down to save myself – with my gloves on! When will I remember to remove my gloves before river crossings? Craig managed to get across with dry feet – and dry hands!

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

Loch Affric circuit

See more photos on Flickr set

10 comments on “Run around Loch Affric

    • Not cold – except for my feet whenever I stopped running for more than a few minutes. I was perfectly warm in my nice new wind-resistant running top and my legs were warm enough in capri leggings. In fact for a short while I was too warm and thinking I should have worn a thinner top, but overall I was very comfortable.

    • Thanks Nancy. It’s a new running top and really comfortable and cosy, but it got slightly spolled on the run. 😦 The shoulder straps on my wee rucksack have rubbed the front of the top causing pilling and rubbing at the seam on the front. Och well, it’s still keep me warm even if it doesn’t look quite so good now.

Leave a comment